Stabat Mater

Haydn originally planned a moderate new choral work for his own singers and forces, and assumed he could not match Pergolesi’s setting of this beautiful text; but he became truly inspired in its writing, and turned in a work which helped the spread of his fame to Rome as well as to Paris and London.

  • Stabat Mater dolorosa
  • O quam tristis et afflicta
  • Quis est homo qui non fleret
  • Quis non posset contristari
  • Pro peccatis suae gentis
  • Vidit suum dulcem natum
  • Eia mater, fons amoris
  • Sancta Mater, istud agas
  • Fac me vere tecum flere
  • Virgo virginum praeclara
  • Flammis orci ne succendar
  • Fac me cruce custodiri
  • Quando corpus morietur
  • Paradisi gloria ut animae doneturFlammis orci ne succendar

British Choral Music

Iain Simcock (organ), Martin Jones (piano), John Anderson (oboe), Stephen Farr (organ)
Christ Church Cathedral Choir, Oxford, English String Orchestra, Stephen Darlington
Comprising recordings spanning over six years work, this generously filled box set of British Choral Music is a fitting tribute to one of the best cathedral choirs in the world.
CD – 5 discs

Missa Ecce ego Joannes

This disc is not new, having been recorded fifteen years ago, perhaps unusually not in Christ Church but at Nimbus’s HQ in Wyastone Leys in Monmouth. The core of the recital consists of two major masses. The six-partMissa Ecce Ego Joannesexemplifies the concentration on homophony and repetition that informed Palestrina’s settings, and is couched in self-confident, flowing, overlapping lines excellently realised by the Christ Church choir, where purity of voice production in the trebles is sorely needed – and achieved – not least in the difficultCredo. Stephen Darlington takes theBenedictusat a fine, forward-moving and very plausible tempo, and the work is realised with precision and authority.

Missa Pater Noster,in four parts,is a more interiorised setting, but it too is interpreted with a fine sense of restrained elegance. Noteworthy in particular is the attention given to the breadth and amplitude accorded to theHosanna in excelsis, where Darlington ensures that a strong contrast is made between it and the openingBenedictus qui venitwhich he directs with refined articulation.

The disc is also notable for three other works, including two motets. The first of the two isLaetamini in Dominiand it’s a compact and vital setting, the imitative writing being clearly depicted and relished. A more reserved setting isJustorum Animaethough its well-sustained sense of meditative plasticity is finely modulated. FinallyPater Nosteris a five-voice setting published in 1675 based on – but otherwise unrelated to – the same plainchant that Palestrina used for his mass of the same name.

These light, brightly projected performances are very satisfying indeed. I wasn’t sure how I would react to the new Wyastone acoustic but in the end I’m a convert. It has air but doesn’t billow.
Jonathan Woolf

Read more:

Remember Bethlehem

[tab name=’Description’]

A collection of new popular carols for Christmas sung in the cathedral choral tradition. The simple 2000-year-old story of the Nativity continue to inspire sublime music from the composers of our time. Here all the familiar strands, the animals in the stable, the kings, the shepherds, the cradle songs, the prophetic, the mstical, and the dancing and celebration are woven together in new colours for the new millenium.


[tab name=’Tracklisting’]

  • God is born, In the manger (2 fantasias on Polish carols) – Arnold Bax
  • The Lamb – P.A.Browne
  • Jacob’s Ladder – Stephen Darlington
  • There is no rose of such virtue – Sebastian Forbes
  • What child is this? – Andrew Gant
  • Love divine, Remember Bethlehem, Romance of the Epiphany – Howard Goodall
  • Come sing and dance – Herbert Howells
  • Little star of Bethlehem – Charles Ives
  • Lute book lullaby – John Madden
  • In the bleak midwinter – Michael Mullinar
  • Entre les boeufs et l’âne – Elisabeth Poston
  • Snows the land cover – Alan Ridout
  • Our blessed lady’s lullaby – Bernard Rose
  • Ninna-Nanna a Gesù bambino – Lavinio Virgili
  • One cold dark night, Shepherd’s Carol – Peter White
  • Dawn Carol – Malcolm Williamson



Howard Goodall’s Big Bangs

Coming Soon

Seeing Salvation (for the National Gallery)

The Lay Clerks of Canterbury Cathedral Choir
1. Kyrie – St Dunstan – 10th C

The Orlando Consort
2. Viderunt omnes, organum for 4 voices
3. O crux gloriosa, antiphon for 3 voices, MB 53
4. Victimae paschali laudes, sequence for 3 voices
5. Asperges me, Domine, motet for 4 voices
6. Salve crux arbor vitae, motet for 5 voices
7. Missa Jesu Christe
8. Beatus Vir (I), motet for 6 voices, 2 violins, 3 violas/trombones and continuo (from Seva morale e s
9. Singet dem Herrn ein neues Lied, chorale setting for 4 voices, BWV 411 (BC F175)
10. Mass for soloists, chorus, organ & orchestra in D minor (“Lord Nelson”), H. 22/11
11. Ave verum corpus, motet for chorus, strings & organ, K. 618
12. Beati quorum via, motet for chorus, Op. 38/3
13. The Same Yesterday, Today, and Forever, for chorus

A Portrait of Vaughan Williams (4 CD set)

[tab name=’Tracklisting’]


English String Orchestra William Boughton, conductor
Overture: The Wasps
The Lark Ascending, Michael Bochmann, violin
Fantasia on Greensleeves
Oboe Concerto, Maurice Bourgue, oboe
Fantasia on a Theme by Thomas Tallis
Five Variants of Dives and Lazarus

Christ Church Cathedral Choir, Oxford Stephen Darlington, director
Mass in G minor
Sacred & Secular Songs: Valiant-for-Truth (John Bunyan); The Blessed Son of God (Miles Coverdale, after Martin Luther); No Sad Thought His Soul Affright (Verse 1-Anon. Verse 2-Ursula Vaughan Williams); Lord, Thou has been our Refuge (Psalm xc); O Taste and See (Psalm xxxiv,8)
Three Shakespeare Songs : Full Fathom Five; The Cloud-Capp’d Towers; Over Hill, Over Dale

Medici String Quartet with Simon Rowland-Jones
Phantasy Quintet
String Quartet No. 1 in G minor
String Quartet No. 2 in A minor for Jean on her birthday

English Symphony Orchestra
Stephen Darlington, conductor
An Oxford Elegy, Jack May, narrator
Flos Campi, Roger Best, viola
Te Deum
O, Clap your Hands
The Old Hundreth Psalm Tune



Meditations for Autumn

Masters of the Baroque (7 CD set)